As an administrator, you can select one role or responsibility per company that will always be included in the process approval workflow. The role cannot be removed by a user and will appear as Level 0 on the add approvers pop up within a managed document, process or value stream.
Level 0 can be seen as the pre-approval workflow. The item will need to be approved first by the selected approval role before the rest of the approval levels are notified for sign-off. Other approval levels cannot be changed to level 0.
Only roles and responsibilities can be selected for the required approval role. This means that role families, service roles and system roles are excluded from the dropdown menu.
Level 0 Approval for Private Objects
Once an approval role has been selected, the Require L0 approval for private objects? option becomes available.
Turn this option on if you want the publishing of private objects to go through level 0 approval.
Turn this option off if you want private objects to skip level 0 approval when they are published.
This option is off by default.
Quick Steps
Open the company settings.
Change the tab to the properties tab.
Add the required approval role.
Toggle Require L0 approval for private objects? on if needed or keep it off
Click update company.
Note: If the required role is set as an owner or expert of a process too and primary users are selected, the primary users will only take effect when the approval reaches the owner or the expert. For the required role, all users can approve.
To remove a required approval role from the add approver pop up you will need to remove the role from the company settings. The role can be removed or updated the same way that it was added. Open the company settings, change to the properties tab and click the x next to the role or select a new role.
